Congratulations to Fall 2019 National Honor Society, Student Council and Tri-M Inductees!

On October 24, 2019, St. Mary's Ryken inducted new members of National Honor Society, Tri-M Music Honor Society and Student Council.  The formal ceremony was held in the Romuald Hall auditorium, and students and parents enjoyed the honor and special event. 

The National Honor Society inducted 26 new juniors and seniors into the Theodore Ryken Chapter.  NHS members are students who exemplify each of the four pillars of the club: scholarship, leadership, service, and character.  The members participate in service projects which raise money to support the Brother Romuald Scholarship and the Blaine Whorl Run at SMR, local food pantries, the Care Net pregnancy care center, and Camp Maria’s Project Warm, among other projects.  Students are also called upon to represent the school as brand ambassadors for open houses, graduation, senior awards, the gala fundraising dinner, and other events.   Finally, NHS focuses on thanking the community around us, including first responders, law enforcement, and the military. Juniors and seniors who have cumulative GPA’s of at least 3.5 are invited to apply.

National Honor Society Fall 2019

National Honor Society Fall 2019 Inductees with moderators, Mrs. Julie Daley and Ms. Olivia Ray with President Rick Wood and Principal Catherine Bowes

The following students were inducted into NHS:

Rebecca Arnold                           

Julia Baddour

Gregory Belvin

Julia Belvin      

Dylan Brown

Layla Cozart-Amos

Darrell Davis

Nikia Frida

Emily Gardiner

Luke Getson

Jesse Harris

Katelyn Kovach

Karmen Krechman

Emily Litten

Blake Meyer

Katherine Murphy    

Gianna Nazzaro

Drew Pettis                                         

Jaida Rhea

Darlene Salvador

Peter Schumacher

Abigail Simmons

Daymone Simmons

Hojung Yu

For more information about NHS, please contact Mrs. Julie Daley at

The Tri-M® Music Honor Society is a program of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME), which focuses on creating future leaders in music education and music advocacy. Tri-M recognizes students that have gone above and beyond both academically and musically. Tri-M also provides students leadership opportunities to make a difference in their community through music-based service projects. 

TriM Fall 2019

Tri-M inductees with members from previous inductions along with moderators, Mr. James Parker, Mrs. Kim Norris and President Rick Wood and Principal Catherine Bowes

17 students were inducted into Tri-M: 

Cora Bessette

John Collins

Abigail Cosgrove

Nicholas Fernbaugh

Catherine Furtado

Edward Getson

Molly Guy

Milan Jones

Karley Lusby

Lena Martinez

Sydney Neal

Jaida Rhea

Sofia Sherman

Megan Skane

Matthew Sterbenz

Caroline Tedford

Samantha Young

For more information about Tri-M visit or contact SMR Fine Arts Department chair, Mrs. Kim Norris at

The St. Mary’s Ryken Student Council is comprised of both elected and appointed positions. These students undertake the responsibility of leadership, either given by their peers through election or accepted through appointments. Their role is to learn how to govern and be actively involved in these governing roles throughout the year. These many activities include school dances and prom, spirit week, Santa Knight, Veteran's Day parade, Thanksgiving Food Drive, Health and Wellness Week activities, Senior Picnic and more.

Student Council 2019

2019 Student Council Members with moderators Mr. Luke Young and Ms. Stephanie Dameron with Principal Catherine Bowes and President Rick Wood

35 Student Council members were recognized:

Elected Members:

Student Council Board:

Sydney Neal: President

Lilly Bull: Vice-President

Secretary: Jesse Harris

Treasurer: Kerra Miller

Class of 2020

Matthew Padgett: President

Dillon Miller: Vice President

Jaida Hendricks: Treasurer

Sloan Koviak: Secretary

Class of 2021

Gianna Nazarro: President

Caitlin Flatley: Vice-President

Katelyn Kovach: Secretary

Matthew Harrer: Treasurer

Class of 2022

Nina Ferrero: President

Gabrielle Pierpont: VP

Elise Cecil: Secretary

Delayne Wood: Treasurer

Class of 2023

Henry Meiser: President

Romeo Norris: Vice-president

Alexandra Harrer: Treasurer

Non-Elected Inducted Members:

Bri Bowen

Alyssa Brown

Morgan Floer

Tyla Frazier

Catherine Furtado

Mia Holland

Karley Lusby

Austin Luther

Ahryel McManhan

Erin McRoy

Romeo Norris

Kaela Robinson

Eve Simmons

Alyssa Taylor-Axtell

Trinity Treadway

Clara Watkins

For more informations, please contact Mr. Luke Young at or Ms. Steph Dameron at


  • Academics
  • Fine Arts
  • School News
  • Student Life