The Alumni Athletic Hall of Fame

The Athletic Hall of Fame currently has 53 members who include alumni and former and current staff of St. Mary's Ryken, Ryken High and St. Mary's Academy.

Any alumnus or friend may submit a nomination.

To be eligible:

  1. All nominees, including coaches and administrators, must have made a significant impact on the athletics program.
  2. Athletes and managers who are graduates of St. Mary’s Ryken High School must have graduated no less than seven years prior to nomination. (There is no time restriction for alums of Ryken High School or St. Mary’s Academy.)
  3. The nominee must have exhibited in his/her life the principals and qualities consistent with the Xaverian charism: humility, zeal, compassion, trust and simplicity.

Criteria for selection:

  1. Athletes must have made significant contribution to their team and school on the basis of playing ability, sportsmanship and leadership.
  2. Coaches must have contributed significantly to the success of the athletics program and must have contributed to the promotion of sound educational values in their athletes while coaching at St. Mary’s Ryken.
  3. Administrators and managers must have made special contributions to the improvement and betterment  of St. Mary’s Ryken.

If you would like to nominate someone, please complete this form and return it to

St. Mary's Ryken Athletic Hall of Fame Committee
c/o Advancement
22600 Camp Calvert Rd.
Leonardtown, MD 20650

Hall of Fame Inductions 2011

Sandra Potanka Abell '94

Dr. James C. Boyd '66

Dr. Virginia Thompson Guidry '94

Kevin Murphy '91

Thomas O'Brien '94

Hall of Fame Inductions 2010

Jessica Guy Bowles '99

Patricia A. Usilton Bowes '61

Nathan E. Costa '95

Derk A. Droze '90

Amanda D. Gillam Lovato '90

David W. Myers '73

John B. Sothoron

Herbert L. Smith '69

Jeffrey B. Worcester '77

Hall of Fame Inductions 2001

Gary S. Bell '84

Judge Francis C. Delahay '52

George C. Gateau Jr. '66

Joanie Sprague Heinze '87

Gary M. Simpson '74

G. Michael Thompson '62

Hall of Fame Inductions 1999

Michael Baird '85

Robert M. Burke '85

Tracey M. Cullins Jubeck '88

Kary B. Hathaway Leddy '85

Timothy P. Lynch '71

Brother Romuald Stuedle

Paul Thompson '91

Hall of Fame Inductions 1991

Edward J. Byrne (Brother Pius)

Monica L. Clark '80

Adrienne C. Mason Denczek '81

John H. Ford '80

James P. Gigliotti '75

LCDR Kenneth G. Gigliotti USN '74

Joyce Winters Keller '60

Lynne A. Kelly '82

Michael M. Lee '66

Hall of Fame Inductions 1990

Brother Lambert Bents

Lynn M. Fenwick Buhler '79

Sister Rose Carmel

John H. Griffin III '64

Michael D. Lynch '76

John F. Offenbacher '72

Loretta E. Abell Vallandingham '81

Hall of Fame Inductions 1989

Bernard Cullins Sr.

Bernard G. Cullins Jr. '60

Carol E. Mattingly Garner '62

Norma J. Kelly '80

Catherine E. McKee Reeverts '59

Col. Terrance L. Smith USMC (Ret) '59

Jean M. Hadaway Sterling '61

Timothy D. Sterling '60

Hall of Fame Inductions 1982

William D. Boyd II '63

William K. Manos '63

Mary Helen Lee Norris '63

Peter G. Vazzana '64

Hall of Fame Inductions 1981

J. Ernest Bell II '59

James M. Moraski '59

John M. Moraski '58

Benjamin F. Weiland '57

St. Mary's Ryken
22600 Camp Calvert Road
Leonardtown, Maryland 20650
tel: 301-475-2814
fax: 301-373-4195
powered by finalsite